06 November 2013

Who wants out?

Five of the eleven counties that voted on secession from Colorado yesterday voted in favor of leaving the state to form their own (contrary to the 1 reported by National Public Radio this morning and the 5 reported by Colorado Public Radio, seconds later).  They are: Yuma, Cheyenne, Phillips, Kit Carson,  and Washington. [Ed. corrected to reflect a "No" vote in Sedgewick county previously reported as voting yes in multiple sources.]

 Basically, a thin strip of thinly populated counties on the northern part of the Eastern border of Colorado plus adjacent Washington County (home to most of my Colorado relatives).

More analysis here.

No comments: